What does Acts of Service Mean?

What is “Acts of Service” and how is it a “love language”? Like the other love languages, it is not you doing something. Rather, it’s how the other person is receiving it. Yes, my mother’s love language is “Gifts”. It was her way of communicating appreciation or love. At the same time, she liked receiving gifts; as it is how her love tank gets filled.

For me, the “Acts of Service” love language is challenging for two simple reasons. It’s not my native love language and it is a matter of how I am receiving it. If I know the person and I have such a relationship then it is easier to receive the “acts of service” as an expression of love. If I don’t know the person then I have to take care and not see it as a put down.

People with physical disabilities are not the only ones who may be sensitive to receiving such expressions of love. It all boils down to trust and communication. Don’t worry, I’ll give you some ideas to help you. Let’s face it. Everyone desires to feel loved and appreciated and I’m certainly no exception.

Continue reading “What does Acts of Service Mean?”

How to Show Love to a Quality Time Person

Let’s Talk About “Quality” Time!

Isn’t it time you put that phone down and learn the art of quality time? Yes, it is time for the next love language in Dr. Gary Chapman’s “The 5 Love Languages”. Yes, it’s about time for “Quality Time”. If you thought quality time is just another way of saying “Spend time with your children” then you are only seeing one part.

It goes a lot deeper than spending time. It’s about building relationship with your friends, spouse, other family members and God. I liked how Michelle puts it on her site, Crated with Love. Quality Time is probably best called Quality Attention. When you’re done with my blog post, please read “Quality Time Explained” on Michelle & Tim’s site.

Continue reading “How to Show Love to a Quality Time Person”